This walk starts in Hanzestedenplaats, which was the economic centre of sixteenth-century Antwerp. The walk focuses on trade, the port and the story of Nieuwstad. Walk past monumental warehouses and newly dug out docks, across elegant bridges and ingenious locks, discover the northern part of the Spanish ramparts and even a fortress on the River Scheldt.
Until 1893, Antwerp’s Hanseatic House stood where the MAS Museum is located today. It was commissioned by the German Hanseatic League.
The “Groot Dok” or Large Dock was built in the sixteenth-century Nieuwstad: a 25-hectare site with canals and a residential neighbourhood called Boerenkwartier.
Bonaparte Dock or the Small Dock (Klein Dok) was built in the sixteenth-century Nieuwstad district. This was a 25-hectare site with canals and a residential neighbourhood, called “Boerenkwartier” or the farmers’ neighbourhood.
In 1903, Antwerp celebrated the centenary of the Napoleonic Decree. The town council built a memorial for this. After a provisional stucco monument, the definitive memorial was inaugurated in 1906.
The Brewers’ House was built by 1553 by Gilbert Van Schoonbeke. It supplied the breweries in Nieuwstad with water from the ditches around the fortifications and Herentalse Vaart.
Bonaparte Lock, which dates from 1811, was Antwerp’s first tidal lock. It was built at the same time as Bonaparte Dock and Willem Dock, which were commissioned by Napoleon.
The Bastion of Kattenberg was the northern-most point of the sixteenth-century Spanish ramparts and connected to the Scheldt river bank. Nothing was preserved above ground level.
Slijkpoort Gate is the northern-most gate of the Spanish ramparts. The outline of the Bastion of Slijkpoort can be traced in the streets above ground level.